chess strategy

Chess Strategy

Participate and you will discover!
Strange name, real hobbies
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
diakonos 126 ( +1 | -1 )
question re: laws of chess Greetings,

I have an important question regarding the rules for competition chess. I am running a tournament for juniors and the result of a critical game is in question. Thanks in advance to any who respond.

A boy announced checkmate and, examining the board, I found that his opponent's king and queen had been placed incorrectly, with king on his color rather than queen on hers. Having a vague recollection that discovery of such an error during play requires beginning a new game, but discovery after completion of a game requires the result to stand, I informed the boys that I would take a closer look at the FIDE laws before making a final ruling.

7.1a: "If during a game it is found that the initial position of the pieces was incorrect, the game shall be cancelled and a new game played." No mention is made in the FIDE laws concerning discovery of such an error after completion of a game.

Does anyone have experience as an arbiter, or been involved in an official arbiter's ruling on such a matter? What was the ruling? I am looking for an official precedent before making my ruling. Again, thanks in advance to any who reply.

Larry
(diakonos)
fmgaijin 31 ( +1 | -1 )
Done Is Done If the players agree to a result (win, draw, loss), then the result stands even if someone (the players, arbiter, etc.) later discover that illegal moves or other such events occurred during the game. So if the players agreed to the checkmate on the board, at that point, the result was final.
apastpawn 17 ( +1 | -1 )
Seen this once. During a tournament in Puerto Rico.

The exact same happened and the ruling was: It was indeed a checkmate and the discovery was after the completion of the game. Therefore it stood as a checkmate.

diakonos 14 ( +1 | -1 )
Thank you both. The result will stand.

Larry
(diakonos)